Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

Both sides previous revision Previous revision
top5things [2018_10_26 09:04]
jim [4 Refreshing the view of Cloud Files]
top5things [2018_10_26 09:10] (current)
jim [5 Deleting Files]
Line 49: Line 49:
 {{:/​top5things:​steps:​sme_5_deleting_files.png}} {{:/​top5things:​steps:​sme_5_deleting_files.png}}
  
-When you delete files using a SME client the files move to the "​**//​Trash//​**"​ view before they are deleted on their file cloudOn the actual storage cloud the files you deleted via SME will be accessible ​via **//Trash Folder//**.+When you delete files using a File fabric ​client the files move to the "​**//​Trash//​**"​ view before they are deleted on the remote ​file storeIf you look directly on the file store the files you deleted via the File Fabric ​will be accessible ​from the **//Trash Folder//**.
  
 If you then choose to remove them from the Trash or empty the Trash then the files are deleted on the file storage provider. If you then choose to remove them from the Trash or empty the Trash then the files are deleted on the file storage provider.
  
-This is a safety feature to ensure you don't accidentally remove files. ​There is no time limit to how long they will remain in trashThey will remain there until they are deleted or Trash is emptied.+This is a safety feature to ensure you don't accidentally remove files. ​This can also offer some protection from Ransomware threats that update and lock files and delete the original file (see the [[https://​blog.storagemadeeasy.com/​ransomware-protection-and-recovery-with-the-file-fabric/​|Forever File feature]] for further Ransomware protection information)
  
-If you wish to remove ​files as soon as they are deleted ​  or let your storage provider handles files that are deleted then there is an option that you can access from "​**//​Dashboard//​**"​ to turn off the Trash setting.+There is no time limit to how long files will remain in trash. They will remain there until they are deleted or Trash is emptied.
  
 +If you wish to remove files as soon as they are deleted   or let your storage provider handles files that are deleted then there is an option that can be accessed from "​**//​Dashboard//​**"​ to turn off the Trash setting.