Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

Both sides previous revision Previous revision
trashfileversioning [2019_10_09 16:41]
jim [Trash]
trashfileversioning [2019_10_09 16:41] (current)
jim [Trash]
Line 12: Line 12:
 {{:/​trashfileversioning:​steps:​sme_1_trash.png}} {{:/​trashfileversioning:​steps:​sme_1_trash.png}}
  
-By default the File Fabric implements the concept of '​Trash'​ for files, similar to the Windows recycle bin. Trash is set to '​on'​ by default.\\ \\ When Trash is '​on'​ then files that are deleted or overwritten are moved to a '​Trash'​ folder on the storage provider and moved to the Trash view in the File Fabric (except for storage providers in which Trash is not supported).\\ \\ The Trash view on the File Fabric is a '​.Trash'​ folder that is also visible directly on the storage.\\ \\ Trash can be set to '​off'​ from the Cloud DashBoard for each storage provider, accessible from their settings. When Trash is set to "​off"​ then the file being deleted or overwritten will be deleted and **cannot be recovered** unless the underlying storage supports Trash, has it turned on, and thereby moves the file to Trash.+By default the File Fabric implements the concept of '​Trash'​ for files, similar to the Windows recycle bin. Trash is set to '​on'​ by default.\\ \\ When Trash is '​on'​ then files that are deleted or overwritten are moved to a '​Trash'​ folder on the storage provider and moved to the Trash view in the File Fabric (except for storage providers in which Trash is not supported).\\ \\ The Trash view on the File Fabric is a '//.Trash//' folder that is also visible directly on the storage.\\ \\ Trash can be set to '​off'​ from the Cloud DashBoard for each storage provider, accessible from their settings. When Trash is set to "​off"​ then the file being deleted or overwritten will be deleted and **cannot be recovered** unless the underlying storage supports Trash, has it turned on, and thereby moves the file to Trash.
  
 Team administrators can also globally decide whether Trash is turned on or off for all users from the //​Policies->​Versioning/​Trash//​ section. ​ Team administrators can also globally decide whether Trash is turned on or off for all users from the //​Policies->​Versioning/​Trash//​ section. ​