Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

Both sides previous revision Previous revision
Next revision
Previous revision
trashfileversioning [2019_10_25 10:35]
jim [File Comments]
trashfileversioning [2021_07_16 17:48] (current)
dan
Line 1: Line 1:
 +====== Trash and Comments ======
  
 +== last updated on: July 16, 2021 ==
  
 +===== Trash =====
  
 +{{:/​trashfileversioning:​steps:​sme_1_trash.png}}
  
-====== ​Trash and Comments ======+The File Fabric implements the concept of 'Trash' for files, similar to the Windows recycle bin. Trash is set to '​on'​ by default.\\ \\ When Trash is '​on'​ for a provider then files that are deleted or overwritten are moved to a '​.trash'​ folder on the storage provider and moved to the Trash view in the File Fabric \\ \\ Trash can be set to '​off'​ from the Cloud Dashboard for each storage provider from its settings. When Trash is set to "​off"​ then the file being deleted or overwritten will be deleted ​and **cannot be recovered** unless an appropriately configured Backup Provider has been established for the provider from which inthe file is being deleted or the underlying storage supports its own deleted file recovery feature.
  
 +Team administrators can also globally decide whether Trash is turned on or off for all users from the //​Policies->​Versioning/​Trash//​ tab. 
  
-===== Trash =====+There are also other Trash options there including maximum size of files moved to Trash.
  
 +When folders are moved to Trash its permissions are deleted. If a folder is restored from Trash then permissions will need to be manually re-added. ​
  
 +If Trash is deleted from a team folder then the Trash item is stored in the Admin’s Trash **not in the user's Trash**. This is a security measure to prevent users removing shared data. Recovery of files deleted from Shared team Folders it **can only be done done by an Admin not the user unless permission to do this has been delegated as described below **. Users are presented with a message informing them of this restriction when deleting files/​folders from team folders.
  
-{{:/​trashfileversioning:​steps:​sme_1_trash.png}} +==== Delegating Trash Management ==== 
- +To delegate ​the management ​of Trash, ​there are two options:
-By default ​the File Fabric implements the concept ​of 'Trash' for filessimilar to the Windows recycle bin. Trash is set to '​on'​ by default.\\ \\ When Trash is '​on'​ then files that are deleted or overwritten are moved to a '​Trash'​ folder on the storage provider and moved to the Trash view in the File Fabric (except for storage providers in which Trash is not supported).\\ \\ The Trash view on the File Fabric is a '//​.Trash//'​ folder that is also visible directly on the storage.\\ \\ Trash can be set to '​off'​ from the Cloud DashBoard for each storage provider, accessible from their settings. When Trash is set to "​off"​ then the file being deleted or overwritten will be deleted and **cannot be recovered** unless the underlying storage supports Trash, has it turned on, and thereby moves the file to Trash.+
  
-Team administrators can also globally decide whether ​Trash is turned on or off for all users from the //​Policies->​Versioning/​Trash// section+  * Grant permission to manage ​Trash for the Organization to one or more roles and assign those roles to users
 +  * Grant folder level permission to manage ​the Trash for a team folder to selected users and/or roles.
  
-There are also other Trash options from here including maximum size limits ​of files moved to Trash.+To delegate the management ​of Trash to a specific role, the org. admin can visit the Roles screen, and can grant the ability to manage trash to the appropriate roles
  
-When folders are moved to Trash all permissions are lost. If a folder ​is restored from Trash then permissions will need to be manually re-added+To delegate the management of Trash to member or role for the team folder ​only, anyone with authority ​to manage permissions for the folder can grant the Manage Trash permission when configuring the Team Folder Permissions.
  
-If Trash is deleted ​from a team folder then the Trash item is stored in an Admin’s Trash **not a users Trash**. This is a security measure to prevent users removing corporate data. For this data to be recovered it **has to be done by an Admin not the user**. Users are presented with a message informing of this when deleting files/​folders from team folders.+==== Automatic Deletion from Trash === 
 +Starting with appliance v2106.00, you can now setup automatic deletion ​from Trash using time-based policy. From the Policies screen, select ​**Versioning/Trash** ​and from here you can configure how long items should ​be kept in Trash before they are deleted automatically
  
-Administrators can nominate other users to be able to '​manage trash' ​ through the use of the role. Once a user has been assigned this role they can manage trash for team users as if they were an Admin. 
 ===== File Comments ===== ===== File Comments =====