last updated on: Feb 9, 2022
The File Fabric implements the concept of 'Trash' for files, similar to the Windows recycle bin. Trash is set to 'on' by default.
When Trash is 'on' for a provider then files that are deleted or overwritten are moved to a '.trash' folder on the storage provider and moved to the Trash view in the File Fabric.
Trash can be set to 'off' from the Cloud Dashboard for each storage provider from its settings. When Trash is set to “off” then a file that is deleted cannot be recovered unless an appropriately configured Backup Provider has been established for the provider from which the file is being deleted or the underlying storage supports its own deleted file recovery feature. When Trash is set to “off” then a file that is overwritten cannot be recovered unless versioning is Fto delegatein use or an appropriately configured Backup Provider has been established for the provider.
Team administrators can also globally decide whether Trash is turned on or off for all users from the Policies→Versioning/Trash tab.
There are also other Trash options there including the maximum size of files moved to Trash.
When folders are moved to Trash permissions are deleted. If a folder is restored from Trash then permissions will need to be manually re-added.
If Trash is deleted from a team folder then the Trash item is stored in the Admin’s Trash not in the user's Trash. This is a security measure to prevent users from removing shared data. Recovery of files deleted from Shared team Folders it can only be done by an Admin not the user unless permission to do this has been delegated as described below . Users are presented with a message informing them of this restriction when deleting files/folders from team folders.
Delegating Trash Management
To delegate the management of Trash, there are two options:
- Grant permission to manage Trash for the Organization to one or more roles and assign those roles to users.
- Grant folder level permission to manage the Trash for a team folder to selected users and/or roles.
To delegate the management of Trash to a specific role, the org. admin can visit the Roles screen and can grant the ability to manage trash to the appropriate roles.
To delegate the management of Trash to a member or role for a specific team folder only, anyone with authority to manage permissions for the folder can grant the Manage Trash permission when configuring the Team Folder Permissions.
Automatic Deletion from Trash
Starting with appliance v2106.00, you can now set up automatic deletion from Trash using a time-based policy. From the Policies screen, select Versioning/Trash and from here you can configure how long items should be kept in Trash before they are deleted automatically.