Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

Next revision
Previous revision
trashfileversioning [2018_01_30 17:23]
127.0.0.1 external edit
trashfileversioning [2019_10_25 10:35] (current)
jim [File Comments]
Line 6: Line 6:
  
  
-===== Trash =====+===== Trash =====
  
  
Line 12: Line 12:
 {{:/​trashfileversioning:​steps:​sme_1_trash.png}} {{:/​trashfileversioning:​steps:​sme_1_trash.png}}
  
-By default ​SME implements the concept of '​Trash'​ for files, similar to the Windows recycle bin. Trash is set to '​on'​ by default.\\ \\ When Trash is '​on'​ then files that are deleted or overwritten are moved to a 'Trash folder on the storage provider and moved to the Trash view in SME (except for Gmail and Email providers ​where Trash has to be set to 'off' ​to delete files).\\ \\ Trash can be set to '​off'​ from the Cloud DashBoard. When Trash is set to "​off"​ then the file being deleted or overwritten will be deleted and **cannot be recovered.**+By default ​the File Fabric ​implements the concept of '​Trash'​ for files, similar to the Windows recycle bin. Trash is set to '​on'​ by default.\\ \\ When Trash is '​on'​ then files that are deleted or overwritten are moved to a 'Trash' ​folder on the storage provider and moved to the Trash view in the File Fabric ​(except for storage ​providers ​in which Trash is not supported).\\ \\ The Trash view on the File Fabric is a '//.Trash//' ​folder that is also visible directly on the storage.\\ \\ Trash can be set to '​off'​ from the Cloud DashBoard ​for each storage provider, accessible from their settings. When Trash is set to "​off"​ then the file being deleted or overwritten will be deleted and **cannot be recovered** ​unless the underlying storage supports Trash, has it turned on, and thereby moves the file to Trash.
  
 +Team administrators can also globally decide whether Trash is turned on or off for all users from the //​Policies->​Versioning/​Trash//​ section. ​
  
-===== 5 File Comments =====+There are also other Trash options from here including maximum size limits of files moved to Trash.
  
 +When folders are moved to Trash all permissions are lost. If a folder is restored from Trash then permissions will need to be manually re-added. ​
  
 +If Trash is deleted from a team folder then the Trash item is stored in an Admin’s Trash **not a users Trash**. This is a security measure to prevent users removing corporate data. For this data to be recovered it **has to be done by an Admin not the user**. Users are presented with a message informing of this when deleting files/​folders from team folders.
  
-{{:/​trashfileversioning:​steps:​sme_5_file_comments.png}}+Administrators can nominate other users to be able to '​manage trash' ​ through the use of the roleOnce a user has been assigned this role they can manage trash for team users as if they were an Admin. 
 +===== File Comments =====
  
-To make a comment on a file from the SME web view choose the comment icon on hovering over the file or open the preview pane and choose the comment tab. Once a file has been commented a comment box appears next to the file. When a file is commented then users who have access to the file will receive a notification.\\ \\ Comments can also be exported as a HTML file.\\ \\ Other access clients also support comments on files.\\ \\ \\ 
  
 +
 +{{:/​trashfileversioning:​steps:​sme_5_file_comments.png}}
 +
 +To make a comment on a file from the File Fabric web view choose the comment icon on hovering over the file or open the preview pane and choose the comment tab. Once a file has been commented a comment box appears next to the file. When a file is commented then users who have access to the file will receive a notification.\\ \\ To nominate a specific user for a comment the @ symbol can be used and a user will receive a notification.\\ \\ Comments can also be exported as a HTML file.\\ \\ Mobile and desktop also support comments on files.\\ \\ \\